My “Covidcation”

My “Covidcation”

 

Meirav’s “Covidcation”

 

This year my winter break was different than usual. Since COVID cases in Canada went up rapidly, my family and I were not able to go to Florida. At first when I heard this news I was sad, because I like to go to Florida to keep warm in the cold winters in Canada. Although, I later realized that I could have fun whether I’m in the cold in Ottawa or the warmth in Florida. 

 

On the first day of my Covidcation I woke up around 11:00 AM. I lay in my bed on my phone scrolling through Instagram, liking every other post. I looked at the time and it read 11:30. 

“Meirav!” Abba yelled, “time for breakfast!” I rushed downstairs into the kitchen and I saw a bowl of fruit for me to eat. It was my job to decide what to have with the fruit. I whipped out my cookbook and flipped to the first recipe titled Buttermilk Pancakes. I started making the pancakes. I mixed all of the ingredients together to make a nice thick and beige batter. When the pancakes are ready I eat them. They tasted as good as my Abba’s. 

I headed back upstairs to my room to get dressed for the day. After I changed into my usual jeans and a sweatshirt I crossed the hallway to my Ima’s room to get her phone and play Roblox with my friends. 

I repeated this routine for the whole week, right up until Friday. 

I started Friday in the same way; I check my phone, eat pancakes and fruit, get dressed, and play on my Ima’s device. Then in the afternoon I hear my name being called to go downstairs.

I descended the stairs to the livingroom to see an escape room set up on the dining table. What fun!

After having finished the escape room, one hour later, I went off to make fudge brownies. I retrieved all of the ingredients, and stirred them together to make a nice and thick brown batter. I placed the batter into a hot oven and then I waited. Then I waited some more. I waited for a million years!

Fast forward to New Year’s Eve. At around 5:00, my Ima and I began watching a movie about teens in the American School of Ballet. All of a sudden my Ima remembered that we signed up for an online drag queen show for New Year’s Eve! With haste we logged onto a zoom call for a “meet and greet” with two queens named Miz Cracker and Peppermint. 

A half hour later he logged onto a live stream that Miz Cracker and Peppermint were hosting! Several other queens participated in that live stream. Their costumes and makeup were out of this word! My sister, Liat, and I decided to stay up until 3:00 AM to see two of our favourite drag queens, Katya Petrovna Zamolodchicova, often referred to as Katya, and Trixie Mattel. That night Liat and I decided to make a fan account on Instagram for Trixie Mattel and Katya. Can you believe it that now, on January 6, it already has 232 followers?

On the last weekend of my “Covidcation”, Maytal joined me for a sleepover. We watched Ratatouille The Musical. It was surprisingly short, but I was still gratefull to get tickets! After the musical, Maytal and I ventured off to the basement. We watched TV, we conversed with friends, we played Roblox, and lastly we started a Tik Tok account together. Sunday ended my “Covidcation” on a more mundane note; I had to clean the whole house! 

So, then here we are! Back at school, and online. I think I need to fix my digital blues… I need another Covidcation!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar